The Organization

Although Wasiwaska is a small organization, it has a large international network and an outstanding advisory board representing various disciplines, such as anthropology, ethnobotany, the arts, psychotherapy, psychopharmacology and consciousness studies.



The Wasiwaska project was conceived in 1996 while Dr. Luis Eduardo Luna was teaching in the Department of Anthropology at the Federal University of Santa Catarina (UFSC) in Florianópolis, Brazil, first as a Visiting and then as an Associate Professor(1994-1998).

The vision was the creation of a centre where all the materials collected by Luna through the years (photographs, audio and video tapes, books, artwork) could be preserved and studied. The centre includes a specialized library, and an ethnobotanical garden. It is conceived as a place where researchers, therapists, artists, writers and other people interested in personal development can meet.

Wasiwaska is situated on a hill overlooking the ocean and the forest hills. It has seven rooms for guests, all with wonderful views. The house combines stone, brick and wood, avoiding right angles as much as possible. The serpent motif is present in different ways in the architecture and decoration. A beautiful garden with an increasing number of sacred, medicinal and ornamental plants surrounds the house, mostly planned by Adriana Rosa, Luis Eduardo’s wife, and South African ethnobotanist Dale Millard. An orchard and many fruit trees are gradually providing more of the food we consume. All organic materials are recycled. Kitchen and maintenance staff are hired when needed.

During seminars, a few times per year, meals at Wasiwaska are rich in fruits and vegetables, organic whenever possible. No salt, refined sugar, alcohol or red meat is consumed. Fish, seafood and poultry are however served. Special dietary necessities are taken into consideration.

We are open to the possibility of low rent residents who would like to stay for longer periods outside seminars, in exchange for help in the garden and planting trees.


Advisory Board Members

Wade Davis Luis Eduardo Luna Anderson Debernardi
Ede Frecska Alex Grey Stanislav Grof Graham Hancock Dr. Stanley Krippner Rick Harlow Dr. Dennis McKenna Dr. Ralph Metzner Dr. Jose Eliezer Mikosz Dale Millard Dr. Jeremy Narby Adriana Rosa Dr. David Nichols Dr. Benny Shanon Dr. Rick Strassman Dr. Richard Tarnas Dr. Steven White Dr. Michael Winkelman Dr. Manuel Torres Donna Torres Dr. William A. Richards Dr. Christian Rätsch Dr. Claudia Mueller-Ebeling kennethtupper susan blackmore